Florida travel guide

Nature Parks - Cute dolphins and terrifying alligators

ding darling1On about 2000 hectares and thus about about a third of Sanibel Island extends the "thing" Darling National Wildlife Refuge. This can be explored in different ways: by bike, car, tram, kayak or by pedes. Each of these means of transportation has its own charm. Everyone has one thing in common: pure nature.



Somehow it rustles everywhere in the bushes of the Wildlife Refuges. The best way to explore this is probably the bike. Because in the car you do not get so much with what's going on around you so everything - even if you can stop anytime and get out. On foot, it can be quite hot at almost all times of the year, even if there are a few days in winter that are below 20 ° C. In summer, mosquitoes are added to the hot, humid air. It is therefore advisable to take a suitable Spree, as well as enough drinks.

ding darling2Unique to Ding Darling is that salt water meets fresh water, creating a temperate climate. This combination provides the unique habitat of the resident wildlife in seagrass and mangroves. The park is especially known for the many species of migratory birds that come here for wintering, like the snowbirds. But there are also many other animals such as alligators, turtles, fish, raccoons, possums to see bodily. The protected mangrove and marsh area is divided into the areas Darling Refuge, Caloosahatchee River, Island Bay and houses the two shelters "Matlacha" and "Pine Island". A highlight is the large lake on either side of the road approximately in the middle of the park. Here you will find many different species of birds, whole swarms fly up again and again and the fish occasionally jump out of the water. From the lookout tower you have a nice view, which can be zoomed in with the free telescopes.

ding darling3Through the park you move - even on a bike - in one direction only. This is actually very pleasant, because the vehicles are not on both sides of the road and so there is enough space for cyclists or pedestrians. But you can also do more than "only" the roads and trails ride: fishing while relaxing in a beautiful nature, by canoe or kayak on the waterways and explore the park on a small tour in the tram.

Admission is moderate: 5 USD for the car, 1 USD for the bike. There are several rental companies on Sanibel, the cost is about 12 USD per day on average. The opening hours of the park are based on the seasons. At the entrance there is a visitor center, where you can first inform yourself.


Opening hours and ticket Download Map further information

JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use Google Maps.
HOWEVER, It Seems Either JavaScript is disabled or not supported by your browser.
To view Google Maps, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options, and then try again.

To press

German Dutch English French Italian Japanese Portuguese Russian Spanish

Sanibel + Captiva Islands von A bis Z

ding darling1Auf etwa 2000 Hektar und damit über ca. ein Drittel von Sanibel Island erstreckt sich das „Ding“ Darling National Wildlife Refuge. Dieses kann man auf verschiedene Art erkunden: mit Fahrrad, Auto, Tram, Kajak oder per Pedes. Jedes dieser Fortbewegungsmittel hat seinen besonderen Reiz. Allen ist dabei eines gemeinsam: Natur pur.

Irgendwie raschelt es überall im Gebüsch des Wildlife Refuges. Der beste Weg, dieses zu erkunden, ist wohl das Fahrrad. Denn im Auto bekommt man nicht so viel mit, was um einen herum so alles passiert – auch wenn man jederzeit anhalten und aussteigen kann. Zu Fuß kann es zu fast allen Zeiten des Jahres ziemlich heiß werden, auch wenn es wenige Tage im Winter gibt, die schon mal unter 20 °C liegen. Im Sommer kommen zur schwül-heißen Luft auch noch Moskitos hinzu. Es empfiehlt sich also ein passendes Spree mitzunehmen, ebenso ausreichend Getränke.

ding darling2Einzigartig für Ding Darling ist, dass Salzwasser auf Süßwasser trifft und so ein gemäßigtes Klima entsteht. Diese Kombination sorgt für den einzigartigen Lebensraum der hier ansässigen Tierwelt im Seegras und den Mangroven. Der Park ist besonders für die vielen Arten an Zugvögeln bekannt, die wie die Snowbirds zum Überwintern hierherkommen. Aber es gibt auch viele andere Tiere wie Alligatoren, Schildkröten, Fische, Waschbären, Opossums leibhaftig zu sehen. Das geschützte Mangroven- und Sumpfgebiet wird in die Gebiete Darling Refuge, Caloosahatchee Fluss, Island Bay eingeteilt und beherbergt die zwei Schutzhütten „Matlacha“ und „Pine Island“. Ein Highlight ist der große See zu beiden Seiten der Straße ungefähr in der Mitte des Parks. Hier findet man viele verschiedene Vogelarten, ganze Schwärme fliegen immer wieder auf und die Fische springen gelegentlich auch aus dem Wasser. Vom Aussichtsturm hat man eine schöne Aussicht, die sich mit den kostenfreien Fernrohren noch heran zoomen lässt.

ding darling3Durch den Park bewegt man sich – auch auf dem Fahrrad – nur in eine Richtung. Das ist eigentlich sehr angenehm, weil die Fahrzeuge nicht auf beiden Seiten der Fahrbahn unterwegs sind und so genügend Platz für Radler oder Fußgänger bleibt. Man kann hier aber auch noch mehr unternehmen, als „nur“ die Straßen und Wege befahren: Angeln und dabei entspannen in einer traumhaften Natur, per Kanu oder Kajak die Wasserwege befahren und auf einer kleinen Tour in der Tram den Park erkunden.

Der Eintritt ist moderat: 5 USD für das Auto, 1 USD für das Fahrrad. Fahrrad-Verleih-Anbieter gibt es mehrere auf Sanibel, die Kosten hierfür liegen im Schnitt bei ca. 12 USD pro Tag. Die Öffnungszeiten des Parks richten sich nach den Jahreszeiten. Am Eingang gibt es ein Besucherzentrum, indem man sich erst einmal informieren kann.
Öffnungszeiten und Ticket          Download Map          weitere Informationen

Drucken

Sanibel Naturpark Videos


Nicht nur ein Hotspot für die Vogelwelt

Videos


Kids entsecken den Cayo Costa State Park auf Captiva
Do, Mai 24, 2018

Suche

Überblick Sanibel + Captiva

Ueberblick Sanibel

Mostly Cloudy

25°C

Sanibel, Fl

Mostly Cloudy

Humidity: 95%

Wind: 22.53 km/h

  • 24 May 2018

    Thunderstorms 27°C 23°C

  • 25 May 2018

    Thunderstorms 27°C 23°C

Schönste Bilder

Schicken Sie uns Ihre schönsten Urlaubsbilder an florido@florida-scout.com. Wir präsentieren diese hier.
Bonita Springs
Anna Maria Island
Caloosahatchee River
Magic Kingdom Parade in Orlando
Miami Beach