Florida travel guide

Traffic rules in Florida at a glance

Florido trafficIn Florida, driving is fun: the roads are usually "always just", even in localities, the traffic is often four or more lanes, there is always in the centers of the few major cities always enough parking when shopping, in front of restaurant, etc. Your German driver's license is valid for a stay of up to six months, unless you move in, then different rules apply. A petrol station can always be found in your area and the locals, especially in South Florida, are already enjoying the "Caribbean-like" tranquility of their neighboring islands. Nevertheless, there are rules, of which we have listed the most important ones below.

  • In the US, right-hand traffic and overtaking is possible in Florida from left to right.

  • The maximum speed on most highways is 65 or 70 mph (miles per hour). That's 104 or 112 km / h. In some states, even 75 mph may be driven on the highways. The speed is always indicated. In urban areas, the speed limit is 55 mph. In towns and cities you can drive between 30 and 45 mph, often just 15 mph near school when yellow lights are flashing. You always have to pay attention to the signs.

  • There is a seat belt and child seat requirement, but motorcycle helmet duty exists only in some states.

  • Wonderful: At red lights you can turn right after you have completely come to a halt before. Prohibition signs on some mostly larger intersections lift this rule. In New York City you should not turn right at red traffic lights.

  • In Germany unimaginable: At intersections with four equal roads, the first arriving car has the right of way. That always works in Florida. If several vehicles arrive at the same time, the one to the right is to the left.

  • Emergency vehicles such as fire brigade, police, ambulance are to make room by quickly and safely forms an alley.

  • Drunk driving is generally prohibited, and in some states you may not even carry open alcohol containers throughout the vehicle. The alcohol limit is 0,08% and their non-compliance can lead to severe penalties.

  • If you see a police vehicle on the side of the road, whose policeman takes care of a road user, you have to change the track from the right to a left one if possible.

  • When a bus stops on a single-lane road, the traffic flow on both lanes must stop until the bus starts again. For multi-lane carriageways, the bus may be passed at walking pace.

  • If you are stopped by a police vehicle, you have to drive to the right. Stay calm in the car and do not dig in pockets or in the glove compartment during the supposed driver search. Traffic cops are very strict in Florida, but are also very friendly to European travelers. Do not argue, but show remorse and promise you improvement.

German Dutch English French Italian Japanese Portuguese Russian Spanish

Florido VerkehrIn Florida macht Autofahren Spaß: Die Straßen sind meist „immer gerade aus“, selbst in Ortschaften ist der Verkehr oft vier- oder mehrspurig, es gibt außer in den Zentren der wenigen Großstädte immer genügend Parkplätze beim Einkaufen, vor Restaurant etc. Ihr deutscher Führerschein ist für einen Aufenthalt von bis zu sechs Monaten gültig, es sei denn Sie wandern ein, dann gelten andere Regeln. Eine Tankstelle finden Sie immer in Ihrer Nähe und die Einheimischen fahren besonders in Südflorida bereits mit der „karibiknahen“ Ruhe ihrer Nachbarinseln. Dennoch gibt es Regeln, von denen wir Ihnen die wichtigsten nachfolgend zusammengestellt haben.

  • In den USA gilt Rechtsverkehr und Überholen ist in Florida von links und rechts möglich.

  • Die Höchstgeschwindigkeit auf den meisten Highways beträgt 65 oder 70 mph (miles per hour). Das sind 104 bzw. 112 km/h. In manchen Bundesstaaten darf auf den Autobahnen sogar 75 mph gefahren werden. Die Geschwindigkeit ist immer angegeben. In Stadtgebieten beträgt die zugelassene Höchstgeschwindigkeit 55 mph. In Ortschaften und Städten kann man zwischen 30 und 45 mph fahren, in Schulnähe oft nur 15 mph, sobald gelbe Lichter blinken. Man muss immer auf die Schilder achten.

  • Es herrscht Gurt- und Kindersitzpflicht, aber eine Motorradhelmpflicht besteht nur in manchen Bundesstaaten.

  • Wunderbar: An roten Ampeln darf man rechts abbiegen, nachdem man vorher vollständig zum Stillstand gekommen ist. Verbotsschilder an manchen meist größeren Kreuzungen heben diese Regel auf. In New York City darf gar nicht an roten Ampeln rechts abgebogen werden.

  • In Deutschland unvorstellbar: An Kreuzungen mit vier gleichberechtigten Straßen hat das zuerst ankommende Auto die Vorfahrt. Das funktioniert in Florida immer. Kommen mehrere Fahrzeuge gleichzeitig an, gilt rechts vor links.

  • Einsatzfahrzeugen wie Feuerwehr, Polizei, Notarzt ist Platz zu machen, indem man schnell und sicher eine Gasse bildet.

  • Alkohol am Steuer ist grundsätzlich verboten, in manchen Bundesstaaten darf man sogar im ganzen Fahrzeug keine offenen Alkoholbehälter mitführen. Die Promillegrenze beträgt 0,08 % und deren Nichteinhaltung kann zu harten Strafen führen.

  • Sieht man am Straßenrand ein Polizeifahrzeug, dessen Polizist sich um einen Verkehrsteilnehmer kümmert, hat man nach Möglichkeit die Spur von der rechten auf eine weiter links liegende zu wechseln.

  • Wenn ein Bus auf einer einspurigen Straße hält, dann muss der Verkehrsfluss auf beiden Fahrspuren stoppen, bis der Bus wieder anfährt. Bei mehrspurigen Fahrbahnen darf der Bus im Schritttempo passiert werden.

  • Wird man von einem Polizeifahrzeug gestoppt, muss man rechts ranfahren. Bleiben Sie ruhig im Auto sitzen und wühlen Sie bei der vermeintlichen Führerscheinsuche nicht in Taschen oder im Handschuhfach. Verkehrspolizisten sind in Florida sehr streng, doch sind auch sehr freundlich zu europäischen Urlaubern. Diskussionen Sie nicht, sondern zeigen Sie Reue und geloben Sie Besserung.
Sa, Okt 21, 2017

Suche

Schönste Bilder

Schicken Sie uns Ihre schönsten Urlaubsbilder an florido@florida-scout.com. Wir präsentieren diese hier.
Bonita Springs
Anna Maria Island
Caloosahatchee River
Magic Kingdom Parade in Orlando
Miami Beach