Florida travel guide

Nature Parks - Cute dolphins and terrifying alligators

weekiwachi1While Weeki Wachee Springs State Park is all about mermaids, the real experience is in the background: A kayak trip through the incredible Weeki Wachee River is a must if you're near Tampa.

Once you have received your kayak, you immerse yourself in an incredibly beautiful nature experience. The crystal-clear water is often only deep, many species of fish swim by as if they welcome us. It is surrounded by a color explosion, consisting of turquoise water, a romantic vegetation in all green shades under a bright blue sky with fluffy white clouds. And mittedrin shine bright yellow and signal red kayaks.

weekiwachi3During the approximately 11 km long drive you have so much to watch that a break on one of the numerous sandbanks is welcome for a little refreshment. At the end of the tour, the Manatees (sight cows) will be waiting for the paddler with a bit of luck, as a highlight of the highlight. But even if you do not get to see them in the summer months, this unforgettable experience is worthwhile.

It does not matter if you are in winter or summer, but in winter you can rather paddle over the peaceful manatees and get close to them. For this purpose, the consistently consistent 22 ° C cools warm water in summer, while it feels nice and warm in winter. So you can drive at any time, unless it announces a thunderstorm.

Important to know

weekiwachi2It is forbidden to bring in the park disposable packaging of any kind, because in the past there was unfortunately too much pollution by reckless visitors. So it is advisable to stock up in time with Tupperware, so you do not starve or even die of thirst on the approximately 4 hourly drive. It is also advisable to reserve a kayak. You can do that over the internet.


further information

JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use Google Maps.
HOWEVER, It Seems Either JavaScript is disabled or not supported by your browser.
To view Google Maps, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options, and then try again.

To press

Florida Travelguide

Naturparks – Nette Delphine und furchterregende Alligatoren

weekiwachi1Während sich im Weeki Wachee Springs State Park eigentlich alles um Meerjungfrauen dreht, wartet das eigentliche Erlebnis im Hintergrund: Eine Kajaktour durch den unglaublichen Weeki Wachee River ist ein unbedingtes Muss, wenn man sich in der Nähe von Tampa aufhält.

Sobald man sein Kajak in Empfang genommen hat, taucht man ein in ein unglaublich schönes Naturerlebnis. Das kristallklare Wasser ist oft nur fußtief, es schwimmen viele Arten von Fischen an einem vorbei, so als würden sie uns willkommen heißen. Dabei ist man umgeben von einer Farbexplosion, bestehend aus türkisfarbenem Wasser, einer romantischen Vegetation in allen Grünschattierungen unter strahlend blauem Himmel mit fluffigen weißen Wolken. Und mittedrin erstrahlen knallgelbe und signalrote Kajaks.

weekiwachi3Während der ca. 11 km langen Fahrt hat man soviel zu gucken, dass eine Pause auf einer der zahlreichen Sandbänke willkommen ist für eine kleine Stärkung. Am Ende der Tour warten dann mit etwas Glück die Manatees (Sehkühe) auf den Paddler, sozusagen als Highlight des Highlights. Aber auch wenn man sie in den Sommermonaten nicht zu sehen bekommt, lohnt sich dieses unvergessliche Erlebnis.

Es ist eigentlich egal, ob man im Winter oder Sommer, jedoch kann man im Winter eher über die friedlichen Manatees paddeln und ihnen hautnah kommen. Dafür kühlt im Sommer das immer gleichbleibende 22 °C warme Wasser, während es sich im Winter schön warm anfühlt. Man kann also zu jeder Zeit fahren, außer es kündigt sich ein Gewitter an.

Wichtig zu wissen

weekiwachi2Es ist verboten im Park Einwegverpackung jeglicher Art mitzubringen, weil es in der Vergangenheit leider zu viel Umweltverschmutzung durch rücksichtslose Besucher gab. Also ist es ratsam sich rechtzeitig mit Tupperware einzudecken, damit man auf der ca. 4 stündigen Fahrt nicht verhungert oder gar verdurstet. Ebenso ist es ratsam ein Kajak zu reservieren. Das kann man über das Internet machen. 


weiterer Informationen

JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use Google Maps.
However, it seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser.
To view Google Maps, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options, and then try again.

Drucken