German Dutch English French italian japanese portuguese russian spanish
  • Apalachicola
    Apalachicola Stronghold of the oyster fishery
  • Apalachicola
    Apalachicola Stronghold of the oyster fishery
  • Apalachicola
    Apalachicola Stronghold of the oyster fishery

Apalachicola Highlights

  • Watching the oyster fishing boats leak
  • Walk through the historic Market Street
  • Trip to St. George Iceland
  • eat oysters
  • Boardwalk evening stroll
  • visit Dixie Theater

Apalachicola Highlights

  • watch oyster fishing boats
  • historic Market Street
  • St. George Iceland
  • eat oysters
  • Boardwalk evening stroll
  • visit Dixie Theater

Map: Apalachicola

To press

Apalachicola from A to Z

Florido perfect dayThe perfect day in Apalachicola

Early risers embark shortly after sunrise on a little walk through the village. Then they can watch the fishermen leak. There are in the Water Street a small boardwalk with benches where you can see the many boats passing by. For this purpose, a coffee next door - just perfect!

Apalachicola perfekt1In the morning we explore then the dreamlike St George Iceland. First we go from the mainland coming to the right along the road to a private entrance lets us speculate whether there will be more beautiful behind. The famous stilt houses of Panhandles are ubiquitous here and on public beaches, it completely lacks public. The other side of the island opens in St George Iceland State ParkWhere the only flat dunes is always rolling. After a detailed often deserted beach stay we go back in time to Apalachicola to here to be able to still roam numerous art shops in a small shopping in the Main Street.

In the evening the oyster restaurant of our choice is a must. Of which there are some at quite affordable prices. Then we go to the Sunset on the Boardwalk next to the bridge at the end of Main Street. With luck, we look at the local anglers with their Feierabend employment and ask ourselves at the end of the day once again, why the "Forgotten Coast" is forgotten. We also come to the conclusion that everything is completely different than in the south: Secluded beaches, tourism and beautiful little originality can be a hold your breath.

Facts and Figures

Population: 2231 (2010)
Population density: 455,3 people per km²
Size: 6,9 4,9 km² km² Of Country
County: Franklin County
coordinates: 29 44 ° 'N, 85 0 °' W
Area code: +1 805 XNUMX

History of Vienna Christmas Market

In Apalachicola history is quasi present, because she is still alive today. There are more than 900 historic homes, buildings and places in the historical district. Originally a trading post called Cottonton was established at this location. Apalachicola then had the third largest port in the Gulf of Mexico to New Orleans and Mobile. This brought wealth and a diverse population grew, which formed the foundation of this city.

The original plans for Apalachicola were modeled after Philadelphia and the similarity is supposed to be seen today. The city was founded in 1831 and received its present name in honor of the tribe 'Apalachicola Tribe ".
In the early 20. Century was the trade of sponges is an important industry. The city has then developed in a tourist region over the years from a port city to a logging town, in a seafood center, focusing on oyster production and are now increasingly.

In 1849 the doctor discovered Dr. John Gorrie (1802-1855) the air cycle of cold and developed an ice machine to cool the high temperatures of yellow fever patients. In 1850 he patented it and thus laid the foundation for the development of modern refrigeration and air conditioning. For Florida and the south was habitable all year round.

Remains of colorful and diverse past are today by many historic houses and buildings visible. The historic district was designated Main Street in 2011. In 78 construction and renovation projects total 1.433.340 USD were invested.

Apalachicola videos


looked over his shoulder oystercatchers

Apalachicola videos


Apalachicola for nature lovers
Tue, Jan 16, 2018

Search

Apalachicola tourist info

Apalachicola Visitor Center
122 Commerce Street, Apalachicola
9 17 to pm Monday through Friday
10 14 to pm Saturday
Tel .: + 1 850 653 9414

Carrabelle Visitor Center
105 St. James Avenue (Highway 98)
Carrabelle, FL 32322
Tel .: + 1 850 697 2585

St. George Iceland Visitor Center & Lighthouse Museum
2 East Gulf Beach Drive
St. George Iceland, FL 32328
12 17 to pm Monday through Thursday
9 17 to pm Friday and Saturday
13 17 to pm Sunday
Tel .: + 1 850 927 7744

Climate table Panhandle

air Panhandle

Breezy

18 ° C

Apalachicola, Fl

Breezy

Humidity: 83%

Wind: 46.67 km / h

  • January 16 2018

    Breezy 22 ° C 17 ° C

  • January 17 2018

    Mostly Cloudy 22 ° C 15 ° C

Best pictures

Send us your most beautiful holiday pictures of florido@florida-scout.com. We present it here.
Bonita Springs
Anna Maria Iceland
Caloosahatchee River
Magic Kingdom Parade in Orlando
Miami Beach

Florida Travelguide

Apalachicola – Hochburg der Austernfischerei

Drucken

Florido perfekter TagDer perfekte Tag in Apalachicola

Frühaufsteher begeben sich kurz nach Sonnenaufgang auf einen kleinen Spaziergang durch den Ort. Dann können sie den Fischern beim Auslaufen zusehen. Es gibt in der Waterstreet einen kleinen Boardwalk mit Bänken, wo man die zahlreichen Boote vorbeifahren sieht. Dazu einen Kaffee von nebenan - einfach perfekt!

Apalachicola perfekt1Am Vormittag erkunden wir dann das traumhafte St George Island. Zunächst fahren wir vom Festland kommend nach rechts die Straße entlang, bis ein Privateingang uns rätseln lässt, ob es noch schöner dahinter wird. Die berühmten Stelzenhäuser des Panhandles sind hier allgegenwärtig und an den öffentlichen Stränden fehlt es komplett an Öffentlichkeit. Die andere Seite der Insel mündet im St George Island Statepark, wo die erst flache Dünenlandschaft immer hügeliger wird. Nach einem ausführlichen oft einsamen Strandaufenthalt fahren wir rechtzeitig zurück nach Apalachicola, um hier noch bei einem kleinen Einkaufsbummel durch die Mainstreet zahlreiche Kunstgeschäfte durchstreifen zu können.

Abends ist das Austernrestaurant unserer Wahl ein Muss. Davon gibt es einige bei durchaus erschwinglichen Preisen. Anschließend gehen wir zum Sunset auf den Boardwalk neben der Brücke am Ende der Mainstreet. Mit etwas Glück schauen wir den einheimischen Anglern bei ihrer Feierabendbeschäftigung zu und fragen uns am Ende des Tages einmal mehr, warum die "Forgotten Coast" so vergessen ist. Zudem kommen wir zu dem Schluss, dass hier alles komplett anders als im Süden ist: Einsame Strände, kaum Tourismus und wunderschöne Ursprünglichkeit lassen einem den Atem anhalten.

Daten und Fakten

Einwohnerzahl: 2231 (2010)
Bevölkerungsdichte: 455,3 Einwohner je km²
Größe: 6,9 km² Davon 4,9 km² Land
County: Franklin County
Koordinaten: 29° 44' N, 85° 0' W
Vorwahl: +1 805

Geschichte

In Apalachicola ist Geschichte quasi Gegenwart, denn sie wird heute noch gelebt. Es gibt mehr als 900 historische Häuser, Gebäude und Plätze im historischen Viertel. Ursprünglich wurde ein Handelsposten namens Cottonton an diesem Standort gegründet. Apalachicola hatte damals den drittgrößten Hafen im Golf von Mexiko nach New Orleans und Mobile. Dieser brachte Reichtum und eine vielfältige Bevölkerung wuchs heran, die das Fundament dieser Stadt bildete.

Die ursprünglichen Pläne für Apalachicola wurden nach Philadelphia modelliert und die Ähnlichkeit ist angeblich heute noch zu erkennen. Die Stadt wurde im Jahre 1831 gegründet und erhielt ihren heutigen Namen zu Ehren des Stammes „Apalachicola Tribe“.
Im frühen 20. Jahrhundert war der Handel von Schwämmen ein wichtiger Wirtschaftszweig. Die Stadt hat sich im Laufe der Jahre von einer Hafenstadt zu einer Holzfällerstadt, dann in ein Meeresfrüchtezentrum mit Fokus auf die Austerngewinnung und aktuell zunehmend in eine touristische Region entwickelt.

Im Jahr 1849 entdeckte der Arzt Dr. John Gorrie (1802-1855) den Kaltluftprozess von Kälte und entwickelte eine Eismaschine, um die hohen Temperaturen von Gelbfieberpatienten zu kühlen. Im Jahre 1850 patentierte er sie und legte somit den Grundstein für die Entwicklung der modernen Kälte- und Klimaanlagen. Damit wurde Florida und der Süden ganzjährig bewohnbar.

Reste der bunten und vielfältigen Vergangenheit sind heute noch durch viele historische Häuser und Gebäude sichtbar. Das historische Viertel erhielt im Jahr 2011 die Bezeichnung Main Street. In 78 Bau- und Sanierungsprojekte wurden insgesamt 1.433.340 USD investiert.

Naturparks und Sehenswürdigkeiten in Apalachicola