Florida travel guide

Your online travel guide to the Florida vacation

Dali1Dalí Museum Saint Petersburg, Florida has the largest collection of works by Salvador Dalí outside Europe. That sounds more than you think at first sight to get to see. Also, the building itself steals the show of the actual concern of making the unbelievable creativity of the artist accessible to humanity.

Dali2After the first "Wow, what a building" and the 96 oil paintings of the really very special Dali-style you might wonder, two hours later, where the others are about 2000 artworks and if that should have been all. Then you should know that 2140's extensive collection also includes 100 watercolors and drawings, 1300 graphics, photographs, sculptures and other art objects. Unfortunately we had the misfortune during our visit, that only the gallery with the oil paintings to visit and a second gallery for cleaning was closed - with unchanged entrance fee mind you.

You can get angry about that for a moment, shake it vigorously and then rejoice that you have seen these pictures. Because they are stunning. Alone eight of the total 18 masterpieces by Dali are in the museum. The oil paintings show Dali not only as surrealists, but his great versatility in works such as still life, landscapes, portraits, which he painted at the beginning of his career. Later, his famous double pictures, optical illusions, geometric and holographic paintings followed.

Dali3


further information

To press

Florida Travelguide

Ihr Online-Reiseführer für den Florida-Urlaub

Dali1Im Dalí Museum Saint Petersburg, Florida befindet sich die größte außerhalb Europas befindliche Sammlung an Werken von Salvador Dalí. Das klingt mehr als man auf den ersten Blick glaubt, zu sehen zu bekommen. Auch stiehlt das Gebäude an sich schon mal die Show des eigentlichen Anliegens, die unglaubliche Kreativität des Künstlers der Menschheit zugänglich zu machen.

Dali2Nach dem ersten „Wow, was für ein Gebäude“ und den 96 Ölgemälden der wirklich sehr besonderen Dali-Art fragt man sich vielleicht zwei Stunden später, wo denn nun die anderen etwa 2000 Kunstwerke sind und ob das schon alles gewesen sein soll. Dann sollte man wissen, dass zur 2140 Werke umfassenden Sammlung auch über 100 Aquarelle und Zeichnungen, 1300 Grafiken, Fotografien, Skulpturen und andere Kunstobjekte gehören. Wir hatten bei unserem Besuch leider das Pech, dass nur die Galerie mit den Ölgemälden zu besichtigen und eine zweite Galerie wegen Reinigungsarbeiten geschlossen war – bei unverändertem Eintrittspreis wohlgemerkt.

Darüber kann man sich kurz ärgern, einmal kräftig schütteln und dann wieder freuen, dass man diese Bilder gesehen hat. Denn sie sind umwerfend. Allein acht der insgesamt 18 Meisterwerke von Dali befinden sich im Museum. Die Ölgemälde zeigen Dali nicht nur als Surrealisten, sondern seine große Vielseitigkeit in Werken wie Stillleben, Landschafen, Portraits, die er zu Beginn seiner Schaffenszeit malte. Später folgten seine berühmten Doppelbilder, optische Täuschungen, geometrische und holografische Gemälde.

Dali3

 


weitere Informationen

Drucken