German Dutch English French italian japanese portuguese russian spanish
  • Pensacola
    Pensacola Synergy of dreamscape and history
  • Pensacola
    Pensacola Synergy of dreamscape and history
  • Pensacola
    Pensacola Synergy of dreamscape and history

Pensacola Highlights

  • visit historic Village
  • Trip to Pensacola Beach
  • admire dunes on Santa Rosa Iceland
  • with children at the zoo
  • Visit Aviation Museum
  • enjoy sunset at Fort Pickens

Pensacola Highlights

  • Historical Village
  • Pensacola Beach
  • Dunes on Santa Rosa Iceland
  • with children at the zoo
  • Aviation Museum
  • Sunset at Fort Pickens

Map: Pensacola

To press

Pensacola from A to Z

Florido perfect dayThe perfect day in Pensacola

In the early morning, when it is not so hot, we take a walk through the Historic Pensacola Village, Are we a little history, interested, we buy a ticket and look around in the houses, how people lived back then. Otherwise, the walk through the village to get an idea of ​​the time and nice pictures of the old America enough to shoot.



Pensacola1Then we drive to experience an unforgettable day at the beach on Gulf Breeze on Santa Rosa Iceland. Here starts one of the two parts of the Gulf Islands National Seashore, In this incredibly beautiful landscape we leave a few hours the soul in the turquoise, crystal-clear water of the Emerald Coast dangle. Particularly, we can look forward to the solitude of this stunning beach backdrop. Food and drink should be absolutely packed. In the late afternoon we drive back to Pensacola Beach. Here we can dine comfortably in one of the nice beach bars or -Restaurants.

The highlight of this relaxing day then provides the perfect sunset - either in Fort Pickens on the western tip and the second part of the Gulf Islands National Seashore. Or - if you want to save the entrance fee - we just stick to one of the many beach accesses before the fort.

Facts and Figures

Population: 51.923 (2010)
Population density: 883 people per km
Size: 102,7 58,8 km² km² of land
County: Escambia County
coordinates: 30 26 ° 'N, 87 12 °' W
Area code: +1 850

History of Pensacola

Pensacola2Pensacola was founded as the first settlement of Europeans in the field of today's US in 1559 of Spanish settlers under Don Tristan de Luna. They came then with seven ships and almost 1600 soldiers. A strong storm destroyed shortly after the place. This is considered by many people even St. Augustine, Florida, as the first European-settled city in the US.

France filled the area around Pensacola in War of the Quadruple Alliance, but gave the place back after the war to the Spaniards. In 1763 the city passed to the British, the port further fittings in the following years. During the Revolutionary War in 1781 the British conquered under the command of Bernardo de Gálvez in the Battle of Pensacola City.

Trading in England began 1784, after this was completed the first privately funded Dock. John Quincy Adams began 1821 with the construction of several forts and a shipyard to build warships. This gave the region a boom in the timber industry. 1851 left the first timber cargo port.

Construction of Florida Alabama + Georgia Railroad in 1835 henceforth links the port of Pensacola with Montgomery and used to transport cotton from Alabama. The economic crisis of 1837 the company went bankrupt, leaving an unfinished project.

Pensacola has three historic forts: Fort Barrancas, Fort McRee and Fort Pickens. Fort Pickens 1834 was completed. On 10. January 1861 to Florida said of the northern states los. Then the Confederates came from the evacuated Fort Pickens Pensacola and held them until May 1862. From 1885 1887 to the Apache Chief Geronimo at Fort Pickens was trapped.

Between 1875 and 1895 Pensacola was a major timber hubs: Good one billion meters of wood left during this time the port. Other exports were cotton, corn, tobacco, flour, phosphates, resin, turpentine, coal and iron.

1882 was completed the railway line to Jacksonville so that the goods produced could also be sent by land. Currently this additional recovery, the city had already 13.000 inhabitants.

The stock market crash 1929 and the subsequent Great Depression made sure Pensacola with its port, the economic importance of lost time being. Only 1941 it went up again, as the demand for coal for the Allies in World War II rise. 1942 made the grocer Calvin Todd that the hitherto private port passed into public ownership. the 1943 was full Attracted by founding the Port Authority. Three major fires destroyed in the years 1948, 1955 and 1958 large parts of the docks. That same year, the complete rehabilitation of the port has been decided.

Pensacola3Until then, Cuba's main trading partner was. But 1960 broke this trade off completely. 1965 was also overcome this crisis, so 98 percent of treated woods were carried out via the ports of Florida. But 63 percent of the exported peanuts came from Pensacola. The city was the way for a short time before the government Tallahassee capital of Florida.

At the present time one encounters warmhearted inhabitants with incredible perseverance. Natural disasters and the military have dominated. After Hurricane Ivan in 2004, Tropical Storm Dennis 2005 and the same year the most destructive of the three hurricane Katharina they have always rebuilt their houses and infrastructure. They live in the awareness that a next storm could destroy everything again. Militarily here are the Blue Angels at home. Every American pilot of World War II was formed here.

Pensacola Videos


Pensacola Nature and Outdoors


Pensacola for Kids


Visiting the Blue Angels

Videos


What to do in Pensacola Beach


Best of Pensacola Beach


Gulf Iceland National Seashore
Th, Sep 20, 2018

Search

Pensacola tourist info

Pensacola Visitors Information Center
1401 E Gregory St, Pensacola
8 17 to pm daily
Tel .: + 1 850 434 1234
Pensacola Beach Visitors Information Center
735 Pensacola Beach Blvd, Pensacola Beach
8 17 to pm daily
Tel .: + 1 850 932 1500

Climate table Panhandle

air Panhandle

Partly Cloudy

27 ° C

Pensacola, Fl

Partly Cloudy

Humidity: 83%

Wind: 6.44 km / h

  • 20 September 2018

    Thunderstorms 31 ° C 25 ° C

  • 21 September 2018

    Thunderstorms 30 ° C 26 ° C

Best pictures

Send us your most beautiful holiday pictures of florido@florida-scout.com. We present it here.
Bonita Springs
Anna Maria Iceland
Caloosahatchee River
Magic Kingdom Parade in Orlando
Miami Beach

German Dutch English French Italian Japanese Portuguese Russian Spanish
  • Pensacola
    Pensacola Synergie von Traumlandschaft und Historie
  • Pensacola
    Pensacola Synergie von Traumlandschaft und Historie
  • Pensacola
    Pensacola Synergie von Traumlandschaft und Historie

Pensacola Highlights

  • historisches Village besuchen
  • Abstecher nach Pensacola Beach
  • Dünenlandschaften auf Santa Rosa Island bewundern
  • mit Kindern in den Zoo
  • Aviation Museum besichtigen
  • Sonnenuntergang am Fort Pickens genießen

Pensacola Highlights

  • historisches Village
  • Pensacola Beach
  • Dünenlandschaften auf Santa Rosa Island
  • mit Kindern in den Zoo
  • Aviation Museum
  • Sonnenuntergang am Fort Pickens

Karte: Pensacola

Drucken

Pensacola von A bis Z

Florido perfekter TagDer perfekte Tag in Pensacola

Am frühen Morgen, wenn es noch nicht so heiß ist, machen wir einen kleinen Spaziergang durch das Historic Pensacola Village. Sind wir etwas geschichtsinteressierter, kaufen wir eine Eintrittskarte und schauen uns auch in den Häusern um, wie man damals gelebt hat. Ansonsten reicht auch der Spaziergang durch das Dorf, um einen Eindruck von der Zeit zu bekommen und schöne Bilder vom alten Amerika zu schießen.

Pensacola1Anschließend fahren wir über Gulf Breeze auf Santa Rosa Island um einen unvergessenen Strandtag zu erleben. Hier beginnt einer der zwei Teile des Gulf Islands National Seashore. In dieser unglaublich schönen Landschaft lassen wir ein paar Stunden die Seele im türkisfarbenen, glasklaren Wasser der Emerald Coast baumeln. Besonders können wir uns über die Einsamkeit dieser atemberaubenden Strandkulisse freuen. Essen und Trinken sollten daher unbedingt eingepackt werden. Am späten Nachmittag fahren wir zurück nach Pensacola Beach. Hier können wir gemütlich in einer der schönen Strandbars oder -restaurants zu Abend essen.

Krönender Abschluss dieses entspannenden Tages bietet dann der perfekte Sonnenuntergang – entweder im Fort Pickens am westlichen Zipfel und zweiten Teils des Gulf Islands National Seashore. Oder – wenn man sich das Eintrittsgeld sparen möchten – halten wir einfach an einem der vielen Strandzugänge vor dem Fort.

Zahlen und Fakten

Einwohnerzahl: 51.923 (2010)
Bevölkerungsdichte: 883 Einwohner je km
Größe: 102,7 km² davon 58,8 km² Land
County: Escambia County
Koordinaten: 30° 26‘ N, 87° 12‘ W
Vorwahl: +1 850

Geschichte von Pensacola

Pensacola2Pensacola wurde als erste Siedlung von Europäern auf dem Gebiet der heutigen USA im Jahre 1559 von den spanischen Siedlern unter Don Tristan de Luna gegründet. Sie kamen damals mit sieben Schiffen und knapp 1600 Soldaten. Ein starkes Unwetter zerstörte kurz darauf den Ort. Dadurch gilt bei vielen Menschen auch St. Augustine, Florida, als der erste von Europäern besiedelten Ort in den USA.

Frankreich besetze das Gebiet um Pensacola im Krieg der Quadrupelallianz, gab aber den Ort nach dem Krieg an die Spanier zurück. Im Jahre 1763 ging die Stadt an die Briten über, die in den darauffolgenden Jahren den Hafen weiter ausbauten. Während des Amerikanischen Unabhängigkeitskrieges im Jahre 1781 eroberten die Briten unter dem Befehl von Bernardo de Gálvez y Madrid in der Schlacht um Pensacola die Stadt.

Der Handel mit England begann 1784, nachdem das das erste privat finanzierte Dock fertiggestellt war. John Quincy Adams begann 1821 mit dem Bau mehrerer Forts und einer Werft zum Bau von Kriegsschiffen. Das bescherte der Region einen großen Aufschwung in der Holzindustrie. 1851 verließ die erste Bauholz-Ladung den Hafen.

Der Bau der Florida Alabama + Georgia Railroad im Jahre 1835 verbindet fortan den Hafen von Pensacola mit Montgomery und diente dem Transport von Baumwolle aus Alabama. Durch die Wirtschaftskrise von 1837 ging das Unternehmen pleite und hinterließ ein unvollendetes Projekt.

Pensacola hat drei historische Forts: Fort Barrancas, Fort McRee und Fort Pickens. Fort Pickens wurde 1834 fertiggestellt. Am 10. Januar 1861 sagte sich Florida von den Nordstaaten los. Dann kamen die Konföderierten aus dem evakuierten Fort Pickens nach Pensacola und hielten diese bis zum Mai 1862. Von 1885 bis 1887 war der Häuptling der Apachen Geronimo im Fort Pickens gefangen.

Zwischen 1875 und 1895 war Pensacola einer der wichtigsten Holzumschlagsplätze: Gut eine Milliarde laufende Meter Holz verließ während dieser Zeit den Hafen. Andere Exportgüter waren Baumwolle, Getreide, Tabak, Mehl, Phosphate, Harz, Terpentin, Kohle und Eisen.

1882 wurde die Eisenbahnlinie nach Jacksonville fertiggestellt, so dass die produzierten Güter auch auf dem Landweg verschickt werden konnten. Zur Zeit dieses weiteren Aufschwungs hatte die Stadt bereits 13.000 Einwohner.

Der Börsenkrach 1929 und die darauffolgende Große Depression sorgte dafür, dass Pensacola mit seinem Hafen die wirtschaftliche Bedeutung vorerst verlor. Erst 1941 ging es wieder aufwärts, als der Bedarf an Kohle für die Verbündeten im Zweiten Weltkrieg anstieg. 1942 sorgte der Lebensmittelhändler Calvin Todd dafür, dass der bis dahin private Hafen in öffentlichen Besitz überging. Vollzogen wurde das 1943 mit der Gründung der Hafenbehörde. Drei Großbrände zerstörten in den Jahren 1948, 1955 und 1958 große Teile der Docks. Noch im gleichen Jahr wurde die komplette Sanierung des Hafens beschlossen.

Pensacola3Bis dahin wichtigster Handelspartner war Kuba. Doch 1960 brach dieser Handel komplett weg. 1965 war auch diese Krise überwunden, so dass 98 Prozent aller behandelten Hölzer über die Häfen Floridas ausgeführt wurden. Allein 63 Prozent der exportierten Erdnüsse kamen aus Pensacola. Die Stadt war übrigens für kurze Zeit vor Tallahassee die Regierungshauptstadt von Florida.

In der heutigen Zeit trifft man auf warmherzige Einwohner mit unglaublichem Durchhaltewillen. Naturkatastrophen und das Militär haben sie geprägt. Nach dem Hurrikan Ivan im Jahr 2004, dem Tropensturm Dennis 2005 und im gleichen Jahr der zerstörerischste der drei Hurrikan Katharina haben sie immer wieder ihre Häuser und Infrastruktur aufgebaut. Dabei leben sie in dem Bewusstsein, dass ein nächster Sturm wieder alles zerstören könnte. Militärisch sind hier die Blue Angels zu Hause. Jeder amerikanische Pilot des Zweiten Weltkriegs wurde hier ausgebildet.

Pensacola Videos


Pensacola Nature and Outdoors


Pensacola für die Kids


Besuch bei den Blue Angels

Videos


Was tun in Pensacola Beach


Best of Pensacola Beach


Gulf Island National Seashore
Mo, Dez 18, 2017

Suche

Pensacola Touristinfo

Pensacola Visitors Information Center
1401 E Gregory St, Pensacola
8 bis 17 Uhr täglich
Tel.: +1 850 434 1234
Pensacola Beach Visitors Information Center
735 Pensacola Beach Blvd, Pensacola Beach
8 bis 17 Uhr täglich
Tel.: +1 850 932 1500

Klimatabelle Panhandle

Klima Panhandle

Mostly Cloudy

18°C

Pensacola, Fl

Mostly Cloudy

Humidity: 100%

Wind: 11.27 km/h

  • 18 Dec 2017

    Mostly Cloudy 27°C 17°C

  • 19 Dec 2017

    Partly Cloudy 28°C 17°C

Schönste Bilder

Schicken Sie uns Ihre schönsten Urlaubsbilder an florido@florida-scout.com. Wir präsentieren diese hier.
Bonita Springs
Anna Maria Island
Caloosahatchee River
Magic Kingdom Parade in Orlando
Miami Beach